Science - Fellows

The scientific staff at FIAS is organized in research groups which represent a particular research area. Typically each research group is headed by a Junior Fellow, Research Fellow, Fellow, Senior Fellow, or Adjunct Fellow and includes junior scientists, postdoctoral researchers, specialists and PhD students. These groups conduct the local research and foster the interdisciplinary character of the programs. PhD students are often co-supervised by different Fellows in order to represent the different interdisciplinary aspects of the research.

The group leaders are responsible for all hirings at the level of students, PhD students and postdocs and for the financial budget of their groups. The Fellows may also initiate research programs, invite guest scientists, organize summer schools, conferences, etc.

The research groups at FIAS enjoy great freedom in choosing their research topics which, however, should be compatible with the strategy set out by the Board of Directors.

Adjunct Fellows

  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Aichelin, Subatech, CNRS, Université de Nantes
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Boller, Max-Planck-Institute für extraterrestrische Physik, Garching
  • Prof. Dr. Henner Büsching,  Institut für Kernphysik, Goethe-Universität
  • Prof. Laslo Csernai, Department of Physics and Technology, University of Bergen, Norwegen
  • Prof. Dr. Eduardo Guendelman, Department of Physics, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Haberer, HIT, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Hess, Instituto de Ciencias Nucleares, Universidad Nacional de México, Mexico
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Jedlicka, NeuroScience Center, Clinical Neuroanatomy, Goethe Universität Frankfurt
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Maas, Institut für Grundlagen der Informationsverarbeitung, TU Graz
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Metzinger, Philosophisches Seminar, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
  • Prof. Dr. Constantin Rothkopf,Institute of Psychology, Technical University of Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Strickland, KSU Physics, Kent State University
  • Dr. Laura Tolos, Institut für Theoretische Physik, Goethe-Universität
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Wand, Institut für Informatik, Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz